Working...

Your Cart

  • Your cart is empty

Back


Michigan CPL Renewal – 4 hours 

Course description:


Michigan law requires a current CPL holder to complete the renewal process prior to their CPL expiring.  The applicant does not have to take a course, but the State of Michigan requires, "the applicant shall sign the statement on the application certifying that he or she has completed at least three hours of review of the required training and has had at least one hour of firing range time in the six months immediately preceding the renewal application".  

Because of this requirement Range 517 provides a 4 hour class with 3 hours of classroom review and 1 hour of range time.  The review will be both taught by an certified instructor and video presentation.  Even though applicants do not have to take a course, we provide this package for applicants to assist them in fulfilling the renewal process.  The course gives the students the most updated information on Michigan and Federal law, proper defensive shooting skills, and conflict avoidance.  The student will receive a certificate and receipt showing completion of the 3 hour review and 60 minute range time. 

Michigan CPL renewal  

  

Topics covered will include – 

  • Range Safety Rules
  • Use of force law
  • Michigan law & regulations
  • Personal protection plans
  • Conflict avoidance
  • Defensive shooting versus marksmanship 
  • Proper grip 
  • Shooting platform 
  • Aligning the muzzle to the target 
  • Unsighted fire/point shooting/Flash sight picture /Sighted fire 
  • Trigger control 
  • Positions
  • Barricades, Cover, Concealment, Escape routes

Required equipment – 

  • Handgun (available for rent, or purchase)
  • Ammunition 100 rounds (available for purchase)
  • Eye and hearing protection (available for purchase)
  • Note taking material
  • Proper range attire – (No tank tops, no opened toed shoes)

Course Fee - $75

Student Count – 40

Back to Handgun Classes